A place users can post their projects. If you have a small project and would like your own dedicated place to post and have others chat about it then this is your spot.

By dresdner353
#64894 Hi folks,
I'm new to the ESP-8266 dev, having only been introduced to the idea last December when chatting to a friend. Since then, after ordering bits and bobs via Aliexpress, I've got a first stab of a project up and running and there for anyone to take a look.

Having looked at a lot of existing projects and gone through the many good sample sketches, I decided I'd try to build a simple firmware that lets me configure an ESP-8266 in AP mode with my desired WIFI creds and other config. Once the device then connects to my LAN, I wanted to have it auto-discovered by a python server running on a Pi or other computer.

The command structure for instructing the devices to do things would be HTTP-based with a JSON feel to it. The objective I have is to get to a point where I could introduce a device onto the LAN and have a server immediately know what to do to control it. So the idea behind using JSON was to use it to identify the device and its capabilities to the server side.

Just in the last few days, I've deployed the first two devices which are both the standard Sonoff switches in more secure housings and are being used to turn on two up-lighters 30 mins after sunset and off again at 2AM. I'll try to develop this idea over the coming months. Ideally I want to get to a point where the python server is also running a web server that provides a single representation of all discovered devices and lets me turn on/off any switches, read sensors and also define timed actions etc for automated control.

The sonoff in the more secure housing was achieved by routing 3-core mains flex into the box, securing with a cable tie and hot glue. I also took a tap from the earth onto a lasso around the switch for safety.