A place users can post their projects. If you have a small project and would like your own dedicated place to post and have others chat about it then this is your spot.

By stevemeetswest
#24205 Hi, I am a couple of weeks into working with ESP8266 SP-1 + Arduino Uno for a project and it has been a frustrating experience to say the least getting everything working as I would like. I am a complete noob when it comes to electronics but I have been dutifully following these forums, diagrams and how-tos to the best of my ability.

My goal - I have 2 devices on a lan network. An ESP/Arduino setup with buttons and RGB leds and a second device that is more or less a PC running Ubuntu. There are two functions:

1) The Ubuntu device can issue a GET request toESP/Arduino and switch on an RGB color combo depending on the name/value pair on the request. This will be done at random times, with no less than 3-5 seconds in between requests.

2) The Ubuntu device will send a GET request at regular intervals to query if a button is being pressed at that very moment. My thought was a user would press and hold a button - and while Ubuntu is sending a GET request once per second, the ESP/Arduino would return a set of 1s and 0s to communicate if buttons are being pressed at that moment in time. Up to 4 digits, i.e. '0010'

My current setup:
- ESP 8266 ESP-1
- Arduino Uno
- Arduino boots and sends AT commands to ESP to set it up as a client for my router and then as a webserver
- To the best of my knowledge I have external power source going to an 'LM1117' voltage regulator for powering the ESP 8266 - and I have a resistors in place to 'split the voltage?' for TX of Arduino going to RX of the ESP.

Current results:
- Initial bootup and ESP setup works fine.
- First 1-2 GET requests to ESP/Arduino work well
- Subsequent requests are met with 'busy' response