A place users can post their projects. If you have a small project and would like your own dedicated place to post and have others chat about it then this is your spot.

By Ormgair
#42257 Hello community! I want to make a motor controller using my ESP8266-01. I have 2 motors and need to control speed of first motor and direction of second motor by sending commands from my phone. But I am really new in ESP and I need your advice, please. Is ESP8266-01 eniugh for this? What is the first thing i need to do?
By Bergenheis
#42262 The ESP-01 only has a couple of GPIO pins broken out on the board, so it is possible to control two motors but you couldn't do anything else. The outputs from the board should not be connected directly to the motors - it won't work and might damage the chip. At the very least you will need a transistor and diode: e.g. http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-spin-a-dc-motor-with-the-arduino.html

If you are not in a rush, and could wait for this $7 combo to arrive from china. It would make everything much easier and nicer: all the other pins available and usb plug and play.
By Ormgair
Bergenheis wrote:The ESP-01 only has a couple of GPIO pins broken out on the board, so it is possible to control two motors but you couldn't do anything else. The outputs from the board should not be connected directly to the motors - it won't work and might damage the chip. At the very least you will need a transistor and diode: e.g. http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-spin-a-dc-motor-with-the-arduino.html

If you are not in a rush, and could wait for this $7 combo to arrive from china. It would make everything much easier and nicer: all the other pins available and usb plug and play.