-->
Page 1 of 3

How to update firmware and upload program into ESP8266 ESP-0

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:00 pm
by Vargha


--------- ESP-12E & ESP-07 ----------
RX to TX
TX to RX
VCC to 3.3V
CHPD(EN) to 3.3V
GND to GND
GPIO-15 to GND (Read from RAM - floating is Read from SD-Card Mode)
GPIO-0 to GND (Program upload Mode)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Win32 Windows Flasher: https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-flas ... lasher.exe
Win64 Windows Flasher: https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-flas ... lasher.exe

Re: How to update firmware and upload program into ESP8266 E

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:35 pm
by Zhymka
Hello,

I was wondering how inconsistent is ESP firmware flashing. I tried this configuration also, but with no result, i am always getting "Read ESP8266 register timeout". According to this site
https://zoetrope.io/tech-blog/esp8266-b ... te-startup
you also need to connect GPIO_02 to VCC, also this method did not helped me.
From experience with ESP01 when you try to flash, you first need to leave CH_PD floating, after applying this, every time i got consistent results when flashing. But i don't get it how to flash ESP07, i have this 16 pin version, does flashing differ through ESP07 version?

by the way, very nice and clear video, thanks

Re: How to update firmware and upload program into ESP8266 E

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:39 pm
by SteveBaker
I found that two things improved this immensely:

1) Running the ESP board from it's own, separate, power supply instead of trying to leech power from the FTDI232 board.

2) Dropping the baud rate from 115200 to 57600 inside the esptool.py file.

I still get that error message occasionally - but it's reduced to a level where it's more or less tolerable.

Re: How to update firmware and upload program into ESP8266 E

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:17 am
by Zhymka
It should be not enough power from FTDI to power ESP, so yeah only from external source.
Thanks for the tips : ). Baud-rate also is important, although with ch_pd floating i was able to flash esp with any baud-rate, only when uploading code with ESPlorer it works with the certain baudrate...
Does anyone know how to determine correct baud-rate for the chip? Or does everyone going random on that?