You can chat about native SDK questions and issues here.

By Almurphy556
#57365 Hello,

I come across a fantastic blog post and I'd love to be able to reproduce the work demonstrated. It's written well and the instructions are easy to follow which is good since I'm new to all this.

Essentially the guy has a ESP01 connected to a OLED. Subscribed to a MQTT and publishes it to the screen.

Blog: https://nathan.chantrell.net/20141230/w ... e-esp8266/

The section below is copied from the blog. It refers to a binary esptool which is different to the one provided in the esp-open-sdk.

"Install the other esptool – There are two different tools called esptool and with the current Makefile you need both. esptool.py is a python tool that is used to flash the .bin files to the ESP8266 and is installed with the esp-open-sdk process above.
With the current Makefile you will also need the binary esptool from here, this one creates the firmware .bin files"

Is this standard, why would it require an additional tool to compile the firmware, isn't this something the SDK can do its self?

I've downloaded the "binary esptool" as described above but have no idea how to use it. How would I install it as refered to above, I'm guessing some command in terminal?

The makefile requires editing to point to the above tools location. Would that be the download location or a location to which it's been installed?

I hope that makes sense and if anyone has a spare few minutes to point me in the right direction, I'd really appreciate it.

Ps I'm running ubuntu and I've edited the multiple .h and .c files with my own credentials. The SDK is installed following the instructions on the above blog but when I run "Make" I get an error regarding the location of the esptool.

Regards,

Andrew
By cmarrin