So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By Marekkon5
#59332 Hello, I am new to ESP8266 and I recently purchased ESP8266MOD. I dont know how to use it. I googled that to program it I will need cp2102 USB programmer. Is that true? Can I make from these 2 parts "board"? Thanks
By Ozzie
#59378 The CP2102 is a USB to 5V serial adapter, that can be used for programming and communicating with the esp8266. Search ebay, you can find a wide variety of adapters based on this chip and others, but you will need one that can operate at 3.3v, instead of 5v. I use one like this. You may also need an external 3.3v power supply, the esp8266 uses more power that some USB ports can supply. Typically you would hook up the USB to serial adapter to program/debug the code you're loading on the esp8266 (or whatever you happen to be working on), and then disconnect it for the final application, so I wouldn't worry about making a board to connect the two unless your final design is for it to be connected to a PC. For programming and initial design, use a breadboard and jumper wires.
By eduperez
#59387 Yes, you need a FTDI to connect the serial lines in the ESP to the USB in your computer.
You will also need some power source for the device.
By Matthewk
#59511 You will need a few things to play with an esp8266 module, and some of that depends on the module. Let's assume you are playing with the -01 modules.

You need a thing called a FTDI, that plugs into the USB port on your computer and it spits makes a virtual serial COM port. The output from that board needs to be 3.3V logic levels. Most of the so called FTDI boards can be switched between 3.3V and 5V. Make sure the one you get is switchable and set to 3.3V. Under $2 NOTE, you will need to find the proper driver for this board and they do not come with them. This can be challenging. Look at the numbers on the chip on the FTDI board and search.