So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By NMoaddeli
#61412 Hi Gents,

I am new to the world of ESP8266,so excuse me if you think my questions are silly questions.

I have set up my open-sdk and compiled blinky project without any error, however the program doesn't work; could someone please clarify followings. (please assume that I am intended to use NONOS SDK - I have attached the code for your reference)

1) The compiler generates two files blinky-0x10000.bin & blinky-0x00000.bin, are these the only files which should be downloaded into flash? what about other files which have been mentioned in the espressif getting started guide (i.e. eagle.flash.bin,eagle.irom0text.bin,esp_init_data_default.bin and blank.bin)
if these files need to be uploaded, could some tells me which addresses? (eagle.flash.bin & blinky-0x00000.bin seems to have same address!!!???)

2) What is the best way to debug the program in this situation?

appreciate your time

Cheers,
Nima
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
By m-a-n-j-u
#62337 Sorry I'm rather late in replying and perhaps you may have already found a solution to this problem. And this post may seem rather verbose, but it is with the intention that it may help others who may face the same problem.

Short answer: You need to write esp_init_data_default.bin to the correct location in SPI flash memory. The <location> is different according to flash memory size. Look for the flash memory mapping information inside "Getting Started Guide - ESP8266". As of this writing, it can be found here:
https://espressif.com/en/support/explore/get-started/esp8266/getting-started-guide#3_2

If you are using esptool.py, use a command like this:
Code: Select allesptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSBx write_flash <location> <path>/esp_init_data_default.bin