So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By HyperDevil
#63193 Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to this field, and i am trying to make a remote temperature/humidity/light/pressure device.
So this one looked very good and i bought it, link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/BH1750-ESP8266-WIFI-Module-HDC1080-Temperature-Humidity-BMP280-Pressure-Sensor-/191981014679?hash=item2cb2f5ce97:g:7XcAAOSwAuZX6gzm

I have an Arduino Uno for small testing and such and also a FTDI1232 (which was required to flash this device as i have understood)

I have come so far that i got the RS232 working and got it connected to my wifi network.
Now the question.
How do i program the chip to retrieve that data from the 3 sensors onboard?
I have not gotten any documentation, so i am working blind, but i am probably not the only one that bought it? (i hope)

I hope one of you can help me get on track on programming this thing, i tried the ESP8266 board in Arduino IDE, but i cannot seem to upload any code. (espcomm_upload_mem failed)
Also the pin layout on that board does not match the PIN documentation on the ESP-14.

Please help.
By Saad Syed
#64120 I was able to use STLink to connect to STM8S003 and noticed AT commands in the dump. I noticed it was sending AT commands to ESP14 to:
1. set it up as an access point
2. bind to port 6666
3. send packet to client with values from the individual sensors.

Yes, all via AT commands!

So I used serial to setup Wifi on ESP14:

AT+CWMODE=3
AT+CWJAP="YourAP","YourPassword"

You've to set CWMODE 3 to ensure that STM8S003 does not get an error when it tries to setup ESP14 as an AP. CWMODE supports both client and AP mode.

STM8S003 is pre-programmed to read and push metrics from individual sensors to the client.

I disconnected serial, and upon reset used "curl <ip>:port" to get a dump of data.