-->
Page 1 of 2

wiring diagram for arduino mega with lots of resistors

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 10:48 am
by gotaquestion
I just got my esp8266 and I'm excited to hook it up. (fyi, the board has a v3 sticker on it)
I'll only use the esp8266 for wifi connection. Meaning, all my code will sit on the mega.

I found this wiring design

http://iliaslamprou.mysch.gr/virtuino/e ... n_plan.png
from this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wuNsnbkj9nk

1) What are all the resistors doing in this design?

2) This design hooks the 3.3v from the mega directly to the 8266. but I keep reading about making sure the power is regulated and to hook it up to a regulator chip.

3) I'll be receiving and parsing 1 url variable every second from a remote computer and then turning off individual leds representing a 30 second timer. Will the 8266 handle that or do I need to build in a buffer?

Re: wiring diagram for arduino mega with lots of resistors

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:58 pm
by Barnabybear
Hi, just based on a quick look at the .PNG link. The 3 x 1K resistors are a voltage divider dropping 5V down to 3.3V.

Re: wiring diagram for arduino mega with lots of resistors

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:37 pm
by icons
hmm...
according to data here https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/arduinoBoardMega2560
the "3V3. A 3.3 volt supply generated by the on-board (Arduino mega) regulator. Maximum current draw is 50 mA..." which is nothing for the esp8266 to function properly. Better to have a separate voltage supply for 3.3v.

Re: wiring diagram for arduino mega with lots of resistors

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:56 am
by gotaquestion
icons wrote:hmm...
according to data here https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/arduinoBoardMega2560
the "3V3. A 3.3 volt supply generated by the on-board (Arduino mega) regulator. Maximum current draw is 50 mA..." which is nothing for the esp8266 to function properly. Better to have a separate voltage supply for 3.3v.

this is so strange because most of all the circuit designs you see are where the arduino is powering the esp directly. how can I up the amps if I needed to power it from the board directly?