So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By yaconsult
#73863 I am new to the ESP8266 but not linux. I picked up my first NodeMCU board and have loaded micropython on it and am having fun experimenting with it. What a great toy for $2.50! I am connecting to it via USB from my HP laptop running fedora.

My questions are about the two hardware buttons on the board. The button to the left of the micro USB connector is apparently the reset button. What is the button on the other side of the USB socket supposed to do? Do the buttons need to be pressed together to perform some function?

Also, when I press the reset button I get disconnected on the USB port when I use either screen or picocom to connect to the board. Is this normal? When I watch youtube videos of people resetting the board, they stay connected to the board and are able to see the startup messages after the expected startup garbage but, at least on the adafruit videos, they are usually using a mac. I am unable connect to the board again until micropython is up and running.

So, for example, if I have my boot.py script print out info like the IP address I can't see it because I can't connect to the board again until this script has finished. I am trying to figure out what is causing the disconnect and if there is an option I can use in one of my connection methods that will keep the connection open when the ESP8266 is reset?

Thanks!
By btidey
#73877 The other button on the board is switch to manually put the device into flash mode. It grounds GPIO00.

So to manually put the device into flash mode, one presses and holds the flash button, then press and release the reset. The chip is now waiting for a serial download. The NodeMCU also has circuitry on it to do this automatically if the serial driver pulses the DTR line lke an Arduino IDE does when doing a serial upload. In this case the flash button is not needed.