So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By Eye
#73953 Hi,

I'm a beginner with ESP8266 and Relays. I'm comfortable with the programming part. However, the hardware part is very difficult.

Actually, the ESP8266 is fine. I've succeeded to upload the program, and it works ;-)
I'd like to use a 5V relay. The best thing I can do is to turn on or off a very small LED on the relay. But the relay doesn't coil. I tried with a second relay, and the LED is even less bright.

The relay needs 5V, so I'm using 5V for the relay and 3.3V for the ESP. The ground is common. The relays I have are like this one (6 pins): http://www.chinalctech.com/index.php?_m=mod_product&_a=view&p_id=1005

Is it a problem with the 5V power supply module? It's my phone charger, so I thought it would be enough power... Thanks!
By aledrus
#73963 LED brightness is a function of amperes.
5V is more than enough. I don't quite understand what you mean by "relay doesn't coil", could you rephrase?

Could you also attach your schematic especially for the LED part?
By Eye
#73981 Thank you very much.

I meant there is no contact between NO and COM. Even if the LED is on. The contact is always between NC and COM.

ESP is powered with 3.3V. I’m using the GPIO 0 (connected to the ground) to flash the wifi board.

The GPIO 2 is linked to the relay in+ (the third one from the top - see link in the previous post). And there is a jumper between the two pins near the ground.

The 3.3V and the 5v power supply ground are connected to the relay ground. The +5V is connected to the relay VCC.

About the LED part, it’s embedded in the relay board. It seems there are resistances and a transistor. But I don’t have the schematic.

Thank you very much!
By aledrus
#73990 From the link to the board I see two resistors, one transistor and a diode and an LED.

One of the resistors is for the LED.