So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By James Pyle
#93594 Hey all, I am brand new to ESP8266 boards (or any other board similar etc).

I am doing a WLED project, super simple. I normally just buy the premade kits but wanted to try something new based on some YouTube videos.

I am doing a simple LED run with WS2812s (the higher density ones, 300 diodes on the 16 ft spool) and using WLED flashed to the ESP8266, then using USB power using a 5v 2A phone charger (tried a few diff methods thinking maybe that was causing the issue)

I bought 4 boards on Amazon, obviously they are a cheap brand but someone recommended them. They were called HitLego.

Two of them were DOA and wouldn't even power on, the other two worked long enough to get WLED on them. One of them failed a few mins later when I unplugged them to move them to the new location..the board when was dead completely. The last one worked and was running fine for 30 mins or so then randomly just shut off and then was completely dead.

I had the limiter set to 1500mA on the last two with a 2A plug - running 104 LEDs (strip cut to 104).

I just got a new brand board in called KeyYees and got it up and running immediately. I used a new phone charger and I set them to 2000mA then 1500mA and that caused no issues - however i noticed the microusb port on the board is REALLY hot..like too hot to touch. I am trying to figure out what I am doing wrong or if anything - and how to fix it.

I am going to leave this one running at 850mA for an hour or so and see if it keeps going, then maybe bump it to 1500mA and let it run another hour and see what happens.

Any advise to this super frustrated newbie would be super helpful.
By rpiloverbd