Current Lua downloadable firmware will be posted here

By Lawmate
#57905 Hi, I'm new to using the ESP module, so please forgive and silly questions.

I have an ESP01 connected to an FTDI232 board, the same as lots of tutorials recommend. I built a firmware at nodemcu-build.com and downloaded the integer and float files as well as esp_init_data_default.bin and have run the following command
Code: Select allesptool.py --port /dev/tty.usbserial-A50285BI write_flash 0x00000 nodemcu-master-10-modules-2016-11-09-21-20-59-float.bin 0x3fc000 esp_init_data_default.bin

It seems to transfer OK until it gets to the bit where it says Writing at 0x00080000. It always finished abruptly at the point with the message Exception: Failed to write to target Flash. For the integer file, this is always at 99% and for the float it is always at 97%

Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong? I have tried changing the baud rate, the dio/qio setting, ect, to no avail.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks
By Lawmate
#57917 Hi

Thanks for the reply. I tried flashing it without entering any size parameters but it still does the same thing. Below is what I get every time I try to flash it, sort of regardless of what parameters I try.

Erasing flash...
Writing at 0x00080000... (97 %)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/bin/esptool.py", line 5, in <module>
pkg_resources.run_script('esptool==0.1.0', 'esptool.py')
File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Extras/lib/python/pkg_resources/__init__.py", line 742, in run_script
self.require(requires)[0].run_script(script_name, ns)
File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Extras/lib/python/pkg_resources/__init__.py", line 1674, in run_script
exec(script_code, namespace, namespace)
File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/esptool-0.1.0-py2.7.egg/EGG-INFO/scripts/esptool.py", line 536, in <module>