-->
Page 1 of 2

Arduino IDE compile error

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 5:14 pm
by Mwawrzyniec
I am trying to compile the basic blink sketch and am getting the following error. Any one have any idea what I'm doing wrong? This has also been posted on the Arduino forum http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=418501.new#new


Arduino: 1.6.10 (Windows 10), Board: "Generic ESP8266 Module, Serial, 80 MHz, 40MHz, DIO, 115200, 512K (64K SPIFFS), ck"

C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\arduino-builder -dump-prefs -logger=machine -hardware "C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware" -hardware "C:\Users\mwawr\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages" -tools "C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\tools-builder" -tools "C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\tools\avr" -tools "C:\Users\mwawr\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages" -built-in-libraries "C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries" -libraries "C:\Users\mwawr\Desktop\libraries" -fqbn=esp8266:esp8266:generic:UploadTool=esptool,CpuFrequency=80,FlashFreq=40,FlashMode=dio,UploadSpeed=115200,FlashSize=512K64,ResetMethod=ck -ide-version=10610 -build-path "C:\Users\mwawr\AppData\Local\Temp\buildb544561eb321cd7f39a175c8228e5134.tmp" -warnings=none -prefs=build.warn_data_percentage=75 -verbose "C:\Users\mwawr\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp8266\hardware\esp8266\2.0.0\libraries\esp8266\examples\Blink\Blink.ino"

Board generic (platform esp8266, package esp8266) is unknown

Error compiling for board Generic ESP8266 Module.

Re: Arduino IDE compile error

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:37 pm
by bobcroft
One thing I noticed is that you have DIO set for the flash mode, try QIO. Which ESP module do you have?

Re: Arduino IDE compile error

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:49 pm
by Mwawrzyniec
I have a generic esp8266-01. I'll give this a try. On the Arduino forum someone suggested rolling back to a previous version of the Arduino ide.

Re: Arduino IDE compile error

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:32 am
by martinayotte
-tools "C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\tools\avr"

It seems that ESP tools are badly installed since it still try to reference AVR ones ...