Chat here is you are connecting ESP-xx type modules to existing AVR based Arduino

Moderator: igrr

By Tasoril
#24769 I'm pretty new to electronics in general, but I've been doing a lot of research and trying to determine the best way to safely and reliably connect an ESP-01 to an Arduino Uno.

I understand that the Rx pin is only 3.3v and the Arduino outputs 5v on the Tx pin, so I am using a CD4050 or 74HC4050 to do the level translation.

This is the diagram as it stands now:

Now, I read during my initial research (though I cannot find that page again now that I'm looking for it) that the 3.3v out on the Arduino Uno may not be reliable enough to supply enough power to the ESP-01 and that the 5v downshifted to 3.3v should be used. Is that true? And if so, how would I go about wiring that up?

Thanks so much for your help!
Tasoril
By tytower
#24781 If you run the ESP from a Uno how much power can it supply is the question . Whether 5 or 3.3 V the ESP needs at least 250 mA all the time available at 3.3V so how much can the regulator reliably provide?

Also I'm curious what the RX/TX are doing on digital pins? What are you planning to run that requires power.
By Tasoril
tytower wrote:If you run the ESP from a Uno how much power can it supply is the question . Whether 5 or 3.3 V the ESP needs at least 250 mA all the time available at 3.3V so how much can the regulator reliably provide?

Also I'm curious what the RX/TX are doing on digital pins? What are you planning to run that requires power.

The RX/TX are connected based on documents I found online for the hookup. Should they be hooked to pin 1/0 for RX/TX respectively instead?