-->
Page 4 of 5

Re: ESP 12E not running its sketch properly

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 6:20 pm
by paulfer
AcmeUK wrote:Paul

I was talking about a software loader, not hardware. The one I used was the NodeMCU Flasher https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-flasher
(Please excuse the miss reference to the Lua Loader in earlier post :oops: )


Thanks AcmeUK, Ill try that flasher now!

Thanks Barnabybear!

Re: ESP 12E not running its sketch properly

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:15 pm
by paulfer
HI Guys

SOLVED: I bought 2 new 12e's from a source in my local town, and they worked from the onset flawlessly!

Some feedback. I literally tried everything and NOTHING worked on the other 3 chips. My deduction: those were cheap rubbish!

These 2 chips both installed using the arduino IDE, and both running all day. Did about 25 flashes of the one chip to test. And its all OK!

I have regained my faith!

Thanks for the help. In the process I learnt a HELL of a lot about the ESP.

Paul

Re: ESP 12E not running its sketch properly - Your Solution

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 5:37 pm
by AcmeUK
Hi

Glad you resolved the problem.

Thanks for posting the details, not a lot of people take the trouble to do that :D

If possible edit the title of your first post to add 'Solved'

Re: SOLVED: ESP 12E not running its sketch properly

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:35 pm
by Vargha
paulfer wrote:Hi Guys!

I have been battling this ESP 12E for 2 days now. I must have read every forum on the NET :-)

I have struggled to flash the ESP 12e just like MANY others on the net. Eventually I moved to esptool.py

To start with, I simply cannot get the esptool.py to work via the arduino IDE. I have tried to edit the platform.txt file by trying to follow this post: http://hpclab.blogspot.co.za/2015/06/es ... -os-x.html
To date, I have failed. HOWEVER, I have managed to flash the chips via the command prompt (in WIN10) and it flashes just fine. (I create the bin file and then flash it using esptool.py.)

What is simply not working is that I can flash the ESP 1 chips I have in this way, and they flash and run perfectly. BUT, when I try the same with the 12E's (i tried 3 already) they flash. perfectly. BUT only rubbish is showing on the Serial monitor. I am using a barebones sketch:

Code: Select allvoid setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
Serial.println("Hello");
delay(2000);
}


I also get EXACTLY the same result from the 1's vs the 12e's on the esptool.py

Code: Select allc:\Python27\Scripts>esptool.py --port COM3 write_flash 0x00000 C:/Users/paul/l.bin
esptool.py v1.1
Connecting...
Running Cesanta flasher stub...
Flash params set to 0x0000
Writing 229376 @ 0x0... 229376 (100 %)
Wrote 229376 bytes at 0x0 in 19.9 seconds (92.1 kbit/s)...
Leaving...


But on the 12e's i just get a few garbled chars and then nothing.

FYI:
    I have checked the wiring 1000 times over, all is exactly as supposed to be on the 12e
    I reset the chip after flashing
    I use a very good power source
    I am using the CP2012 programmer
    The 12e ran fine initially with the AT firmware on it.
    I have the 12e with the 8Mb 512/512

My questions are thus:

1. Has anyone got any clue as to why this is?
2. Does anyone know how to integrate the esptool.py into the arduino environment?

Have a fab day!

Paul

====================================================================
====================================================================


Hi, and thanks for posting the problem.
There is a key difference between (ESP-12, ESP-07), and ESP-01. You need to connect GPIO-15 to GND. Please check out these videos, and I hope it helps:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6t2SoeV2b4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xf6R7GiwvCQ