Post links and attach files for documentation here, also chat about these docs freely

By mike2058
#41044 I am very new to the ESP8266 ESP-01 which is the same as saying I am very confused about firmware and firmware updates. I wired up an ESP8266 with no issues and ran the AT commands in the serial monitor both in the Arduino and Visual Studio IDEs with everything working just fine. I got back the expected results for AT and AT+GMR commands for example. When I updated the firmware, nodemcu-flasher’s default update is a Luna based firmware that I don’t want at this time. I would like to start learning about the ESP8266 using AT commands but can't seem to figure out how to get back to any updated AT firmware.
My problems start with finding any AT firmware upgrade for the module. Researching this issue, I learned that there are a wide variety of firmware options from different developers that range from using AT commands to Luna scripting and they all seem to have links to GitHub sites where their latest firmware is found. However, these sites appears very different from the ones in any of videos I have seen covering updating and the GitHub sites don’t seem to have any instructions on how to use the code found there. Apparently there is a bit more to all this firmware updating cha-cha than just downloading a .bin file and pointing to it in the config tab of nodemcu-flasher and hitting the Flash button.