A place users can post their projects. If you have a small project and would like your own dedicated place to post and have others chat about it then this is your spot.

By Inq720
#93837 I would like to introduce a new Arduino IDE library for Rapid Development of IoT type applications for the ESP8266.  I should mention first, this library has been around since 2016.  In fact, introduce means, I now feel good enough about it to release this Version 5.0 to anyone.  Even... the hardest audience of them all... this community.

Question of cost - It's free and royalty free for you selling a product using it.

Release5.png

Why Another Web Server
I'm a retired engineer (10 years) and retired professional software developer (25 years).  I still like to develop software... far more now than when I worked for a large corporation.  I also needed a little more brain challenge than a morning Sudoku.  Besides developing, I also volunteer to teach Arduino electronics and programming at my local community college and my local library.  My students range from pre-teens to senior citizens.  Almost without exception, all are keenly interested in getting their hardware widget working.  They don't want to mess with wiring displays and pots to control their projects.  They neither have the skills or patience to build a web server out of the generalized libraries we currently have access to here.  At home, they have smart "this's and that's" and want something just like them... but of their own creation.  They want to access it from every device and anywhere.  

Fundamentals of InqPortal
There are plenty of fine libraries out there that I know of... I am most familiar with the core's ESP8266WiFi and ESPAsyncWebServer libraries.  In fact, early versions of InqPortal used those under the covers.  At the lowest level, this version 5 is a blank-sheet design of just about every subsystem including:
  • A web server based on Espressif core methods and lwIP.