So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By shoelessone
#74578 *tldr*: are there stability benefits to ESP32 vs ESP8266 that warrant using ESP32? Given I want to use Mongoose OS w/ AWS IoT and a solid / reliable "end user" (my family!) experience is critical to me does ESP32 give me anything?

(sorry for the wall of text / thoughts!)

Hey all! I've been in a bit of a project-funk for a while, the last (and my first!) project I worked on was with an ESP8266 (shameless link) and honestly it was probably one of the most difficult and fulfilling projects I've ever worked on.

I'd really like to get back to electronics, and I have a new idea for a project where my primary goal is more about creating a reliable and solid "platform" for future projects. That is not super clear I realize, so a bit more info: I'm a software developer, but very new in general to the EE world so still struggle with basics. My first project I worked on I felt very proud of overall in that I accomplished what i had set out to create, but what I found was that at any sort of scale I was running into a lot of problems with family members not able to reliably configure the WiFi connection on the final product I created. I also found that certain boxes over a period of time started to fail or become unreliable, requiring daily restarts, etc. One of my sisters, even with my phone support, was never actually able to successfully get her box hooked up with her wifi.