So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By Bonzo
#75899 I am building a wireless sensor using a Nodemcu connecting to Python on a Pi. Last night it worked for about 9 hours although for some reason it looked like the Nodemcu was going to sleep for some reason.

Anyway today I have been tying to get deep sleep to work. The code I have found works OK in the normal Arduino with a setup and loop functions. But when I modify to run in the setup function it fails on the Udp.parsePacket(); - it has a 0 size.

This is the code I currently have and what I want is for the Nodemcu to wake up after a set time, Python sends a packet at a set time about one min after the Nodemcu wakes up. The Nodemcu then sends the data and goes to sleep - repeat.
Currently the nodemcu starts and is waiting for the packet and as the packet is 0 the program just sits there.

I am new to all this and would appreciate some help to get this running.

Code: Select all#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <WiFiUdp.h>

const char* ssid = "**********";
const char* password = "**********";

WiFiUDP Udp;
unsigned int localUdpPort = 8888;  // local port to listen on was 4210
char incomingPacket[255];  // buffer for incoming packets
char  replyPacket[] = "Hi there! Got the message :-)";  // a reply string to send back

const int sleepTime = 5000000;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println();

Serial.printf("Connecting to %s ", ssid);

//WiFi.forceSleepWake();

WiFi.begin(ssid, password);
  while (WiFi.status() != WL_CONNECTED)
  {
    delay(500);
    Serial.print(".");
  }
  Serial.println(" connected");

Udp.begin(localUdpPort);
  Serial.printf("Now listening at IP %s, UDP port %d\n", WiFi.localIP().toString().c_str(), localUdpPort);

int packetSize = Udp.parsePacket();
  if (packetSize)
  {
    // receive incoming UDP packets
    Serial.printf("Received %d bytes from %s, port %d\n", packetSize, Udp.remoteIP().toString().c_str(), Udp.remotePort());