So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By Dominic Jackson
#78214 Hi I am a totally beginner I wanted to control the fan speed on a little greenhouse I have to keep it at 24c-30c degrees. I am looking at the cheapest way to do this and I am going for a PI zero without wifi then I can simply add a wifi module. I can buy a ESP8266 ESP-12E from ebay for £1.70 or the USB dongle for about the same price. But I would like to have my usb port free and increase my learning and understanding so I would like to go for the module. Is it that hard to get it up and running so it is used in linux seamlessly like a normal usb wifi dongle?

Next I want to work out how to control the current going to a pair of fans, not only as a switch (on or off) but as a variable rpm depending on how hot or cold it is. Also to play some music to them to wake them up and then finally an auto watering system so I can leave them for a week to go on holiday. But one stage at a time! First just getting wifi onto a pi zero :)

Thanks.
By QuickFix
#78248 What you describe can all be done with a single ESP (and a couple of auxiliary components) and a lot of elbow grease; there's no need for a Pi (of any sort).
Just get yourself an Arduino IDE, download the ESP8266 core, try out some examples and put together your own code by taking pieces of someone else's work. ;)

Someone else on this forum is playing with an ESP in his green house, maybe you can exchange ideas with him (sorry can't remember who it was atm)?
Other inspirations might be found in projects on sites like Instructables. :idea:

Oh... and please don't buy an ESP module, but get yourself a development board instead: they're equally cheap (see my signature below for links), but they'll save you a lot of trouble getting things to work the way you want. :idea: