-->
Page 1 of 1

Sketch upload but does not run

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 7:09 am
by Jercoko
Arduino Uno (no serial-USB built in)

Arduino IDE with esp8266 package installed.


Sketch upload with no error at 115200 baud. ESP red light is on on power on, blue light blink during upload. The ESP leds let us think everything is normal.


But when I remove GPIO0-GND cable (switch the ESP in normal mode) The ESP don't run the code. Even blink doesn't work.

Something else is strange: When I write a command in the serial monitor, nothing appears, but when I press the reset button just after giving the command, the serial monitor display unreadable strings:

Image
Serial returns this after giving a command and pressing "reset" esp button


My configuration is:


Image
Programming Mode (Upload and commands)



Image
Normal mode (TX and RX are crossed, I forget it on the scheme)


Why does the sketch doesn't run ? Thanks

Re: Sketch upload but does not run

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:39 pm
by Jercoko
Half resolved:

Sketches acutally run, I was thinking they doesn't because Blink Sketch don't works
The blue built in led is not broken, it turns on on start and blink during sketch upload.


But when I upload the blink sketch, or any sketch that contains the code that tell the led to blink, all is working except that the blue light doesn't blink when I'm asking for !

This is the code from examples>esp8266>blink:

Code: Select allvoid setup() {
  pinMode(LED_BUILTIN, OUTPUT);     // Initialize the LED_BUILTIN pin as an output
}

// the loop function runs over and over again forever
void loop() {
  digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, LOW);   // Turn the LED on (Note that LOW is the voltage level
  // but actually the LED is on; this is because
  // it is active low on the ESP-01)
  delay(1000);                      // Wait for a second
  digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, HIGH);  // Turn the LED off by making the voltage HIGH
  delay(2000);                      // Wait for two seconds (to demonstrate the active low LED)
}

Re: Sketch upload but does not run

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:41 am
by QuickFix
Please ditch your setup for now and read my signature first (buy a development board). :idea: