So you're a Noob? Post your questions here until you graduate! Don't be shy.

By Vivadego
#94826 Today was my first day in trying to start with the ESP8266.
From what I already understand it wasn't the smartest move to go for an ESP-01, however I do have a particular project in mind where I want to use it for.

What I have been trying to do is Flash WLED tot the ESP-01, but at some point just tried to flash anyting.

I am using an USB CH340 with "power - uart" swich like this one

I have tried different method's so far, flashing through arduino IDE, Tazmotizer, and the WLED installer page. I even tried flashing with python at one point, but since I am completely new to any sort of programming that was just a bad idea :D

I went back to try and flash a basic blink program through the Arduino IDE. The problem I seem to keep encountering is the same: unable to connect to the board. See code below for the exact error I get.

Code: Select allExecutable segment sizes:
ICACHE : 32768           - flash instruction cache
IROM   : 231724          - code in flash         (default or ICACHE_FLASH_ATTR)
IRAM   : 26797   / 32768 - code in IRAM          (IRAM_ATTR, ISRs...)
DATA   : 1496  )         - initialized variables (global, static) in RAM/HEAP
RODATA : 876   ) / 81920 - constants             (global, static) in RAM/HEAP
BSS    : 25608 )         - zeroed variables      (global, static) in RAM/HEAP
Sketch uses 260893 bytes (27%) of program storage space. Maximum is 958448 bytes.
Global variables use 27980 bytes (34%) of dynamic memory, leaving 53940 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 81920 bytes.
esptool.py v3.0
Serial port COM7
Connecting........_____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____.....____Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\vince\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp8266\hardware\esp8266\3.0.1/tools/upload.py", line 66, in <module>
    esptool.main(cmdline)