-->
Page 3 of 4

Re: DO I need to erase old nodemcu from chip ?

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 2:32 pm
by quintinjvr
Had the same problem. After lots of trail and error I found that you need to have GPIO0 connected to ground when powering up, then remove ground from GPIO0 and then upload. Strange but seems to work for me. (ESP 8266 101)

Re: DO I need to erase old nodemcu from chip ?

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2015 4:25 am
by sang_sorn
quintinjvr wrote:Had the same problem. After lots of trail and error I found that you need to have GPIO0 connected to ground when powering up, then remove ground from GPIO0 and then upload. Strange but seems to work for me. (ESP 8266 101)


It's work! Thanks!!

Re: DO I need to erase old nodemcu from chip ?

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 8:57 pm
by PawnDrifter
I found this helpful thread that I somehow missed the first time:

http://www.esp8266.com/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=2245

It describes how the Arduino IDE will overwrite any firmware already loaded. Doh! But that is a good thing if you want to use the Arduino IDE anyway.

I also experienced a failure to communicate with the Arduino 1.6.4 IDE and 8266 Generic board type on my ESP8266-07.

I am currently stuck at this point with communications, but have learned a little since then. I'll go back and give it a go.

I did use Termite at 74880 bps to watch the exchange on reboot of the module.
I received the following stream:
ets_main.c [00]
ets Jan 8 2013,rst cause:1, boot mode:(3,7)

Re: DO I need to erase old nodemcu from chip ?

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 11:57 am
by froggy
Im having the same problem with a 201 no matter what i try i get

error: failed reading byte
warning: espcomm_send_command: cant receive slip payload data
warning: espcomm_sync failed
error: espcomm_open failed