Downloading and installing the new Arduino IDE for ESP8266

Moderator: igrr

By DINK74
#87322 Hi, folks!

I'm quite new to all this Arduino stuff - I bought an original Arduino Uno Starter Kit and it works fine with IDE. Then I wanted to build separate project on different board so I've chosen WEMOS D1 WiFi.
I've installed ESP8266 2.7.1 on Arduino IDE 1.8.12 and tried to upload simple sketch (Blink). But all I got is "esptool.FatalError: Failed to connect to ESP8266: Timed out waiting for packet header".
The board LEDs ON & SCK are both lit. While uploading another LED is blinking irregularly (the one by the edge of ESP8266 chip). I tried few different boards & connection speeds but with no success. What am I missing? Any ideas?
Arduino: 1.8.12 (Windows 10), Board: "LOLIN(WEMOS) D1 R2 & mini, 80 MHz, Flash, Legacy (new can return nullptr), All SSL ciphers (most compatible), 4MB (FS:2MB OTA:~1019KB), v2 Lower Memory, Disabled, None, Only Sketch, 115200"

Executable segment sizes:
IROM : 228492 - code in flash (default or ICACHE_FLASH_ATTR)
IRAM : 26792 / 32768 - code in IRAM (ICACHE_RAM_ATTR, ISRs...)
DATA : 1248 ) - initialized variables (global, static) in RAM/HEAP
RODATA : 688 ) / 81920 - constants (global, static) in RAM/HEAP
BSS : 24880 ) - zeroed variables (global, static) in RAM/HEAP

Sketch uses 257220 bytes (24%) of program storage space. Maximum is 1044464 bytes.
Global variables use 26816 bytes (32%) of dynamic memory, leaving 55104 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 81920 bytes.
esptool.py v2.8
Serial port COM9
Connecting........_____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____.....____Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\dink\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp8266\hardware\esp8266\2.7.1/tools/upload.py", line 65, in <module>
esptool.main(cmdline)
File "C:/Users/dink/AppData/Local/Arduino15/packages/esp8266/hardware/esp8266/2.7.1/tools/esptool\esptool.py", line 2890, in main
esp.connect(args.before)