Your new topic does not fit any of the above??? Check first. Then post here. Thanks.

Moderator: igrr

By anotherjoe
#48157 I recently went on a code refactor crusade to try and improve the situation in my project where free heap memory as reported by ESP.getFreeHeap() had dropped to around 19Kb. I knew that all of the hardcoded strings were a bad idea not helping this depleting heap memory problem so I decided to go after this particular problem.

After much scratching around and reading what other people do, in the end I came up with what seems to be an easily manageable code pattern that seems to have improved the situation by about 6Kb where free heap memory is now reported as being around 25Kb.

Not being a C/C++ expert myself, I'd like to ask for opinions on this code pattern from those with more experience to try and workout if what I've ended up with is ok or if it's a complete disaster.

It works like this:
I've created a string table that gets processed by the pre-processor to create individual PROGMEM strings, a string array of these strings and an associated enum that I can use in code to retrieve a PROGMEM string from flash. The string table looks like this:
Code: Select all#define STRING_TABLE \
   ENTRY(enumStrVal1, "string1") \
   ENTRY(enumStrVal2, "string2") \
   ENTRY(enumStrVal3, "string3") \
   etc...

The contents of this string table then gets converted to code generated PROGMEM strings and a populated enum by some more pre-processor magic:
Code: Select allenum appStrType {
#define ENTRY(enumVal, str) enumVal,
   STRING_TABLE
#undef ENTRY
};

#define ENTRY(enumVal, str) extern const char CLI_STR_ ## enumVal[];
STRING_TABLE
#undef ENTRY

#define ENTRY(enumVal, str) const char CLI_STR_ ## enumVal[] PROGMEM = str;
STRING_TABLE
#undef ENTRY

const char* const appStrings[] PROGMEM = {
#define ENTRY(enumVal, str) CLI_STR_ ## enumVal,
      STRING_TABLE
#undef ENTRY
};