Your new topic does not fit any of the above??? Check first. Then post here. Thanks.

Moderator: igrr

By SentinelAeon
#78820 Hello, i am new to ESP8266 and new to arduino. I am using arduino IDE, ESP8266 d1 mini and usb-serial converter. What i am trying to do is send a single char from my ESP8266 to my usb-serial converter. I connected tx pin on esp8266 and rx pin on my usb-serial converter. Then i wrote this code:

Code: Select allvoid setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once: 
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly: 
    Serial.write("a");
    delay(1000);

}

This sent letter a to both serialmonitor of Arduino IDE and to my USB-Serial converter. Job well done you could say. But the problem is, i am not sure why it even sent to USB-Serial converter. I didnt define "Serial" anywhere in the code, so as far as i know Serial is a connection betwen ESP8266 and computer. Now my question is this: What code do i need to write to send letter "a" only to USB-Serial converter but NOT to Serial monitor ? I tried hardwareserial, softwareserial, pinmode, etc. but nothing seems to work.
By QuickFix
#78839 Erm... to get things clear:

This is an ESP8266 D1 Mini (well actually it's a Wemos D1 Mini):Image

This board consists of ESP8266 WiFi circuitry (using an ESP-12F) and a serial to USB convertor (using a CH340G).
An ESP has two UARTs: UART0 and UART1, UART0 is connected to the USB convertor and in the Arduino core is called "Serial", while for UART1 only the TX-pin is available (on GPIO2) for debug purposes and is called "Serial1" in the Arduino core.

In the Arduino core, you don't have to assign or declare Serial or Serial1, since they already exist; you can directly enable them by issuing ".begin(baudrate)" or don't use them as serial at all, but as GPIO instead (by issuing the pinMode() command).