Your new topic does not fit any of the above??? Check first. Then post here. Thanks.

Moderator: igrr

By Say_hello
#80316 Dear Community,

this is a protocol-discussion: a rc-car that makes use of ESP8266 and the: Websockets, TCP, UDP, RF - which one to take..?

The aim of this project is to build a transmitter and a receiver by using a cheap and easy to use component such as ESP8266,(...or alternatively Arduino UNO, Arduino Nano, and nRF24L01 transceiver.)

This project should be a good start point for beginners. One of the main questions is the question of the architecture and the protocols to choose:
note: I am a beginner in this field and would like some direction - what approach do I take that will allow me to keep the cost low (e.g. no bluetooth modules)? especially the question which protocoll i should use with the ESP8266 is a question: should i us Websockets / TCP or UDP or RF

how would you decide?
i want to create an ESP8266 project about a Wi-Fi controlled (ESP8266) RC car using.
- with a tight budget you can't really buy everything you need at once.

what is needed - which materials do i need:
- an ESP8266 / (or alternatively Arduino UNO, Arduino Nano, and nRF24L01)
(well i would say - Arduino uno and esp-01 module is difficult and more expensive that choosing a Wemos Mini or a nodeMCU board. advantages; this will be smaller, cheaper and easier to use than e e)
- an L298N motor driver - H-bridge
- an LF33CV 3.3V regulator
- an RC car
- also batteries, that meet our needs

regarding the protocolls - not yet every decision is made: the protocols are thinkable: Websockets, TCP, UDP, RF
- which protocol should i use!?
- Websockets, TCP, UDP, RF - protocoll?

since i am quiet a beginner here - i want to recapitulate the options we have here:

There are two types of Internet Protocol (IP) traffic. They are TCP or Transmission Control Protocol and UDP or User Datagram Protocol.