Your new topic does not fit any of the above??? Check first. Then post here. Thanks.

Moderator: igrr

By shamziman
#39857 Hi all,

I've spent a number of days trying to get a simple NTP update sketch working. I'm a bit new to most of this, but I'm struggling with finding libraries that work with the various examples that one finds laying around. Currently, there are probably at least 6 different libraries for the ESP8266 boards and they all "digress" into their own special methods of utilizing the features of the chip. (adafruit, sparkfun, extrand, igrr, etc...) This sort of reminds me of the general chaos which mostly turns me off about gnu linux. The work from Igrr seems to be most complete, but has references to header files which don't seem to be part of the base IDE installation (queue.h, memory.h, iirc).

Basically I'd be happy if I could get anything with UDP running right now just to see if I'm getting closer. I have avoided the messiness of the AT commands in hope that the libraries already have functions for all of this, but I haven't yet found a way to see if I actually have a localport up and I have yet to see anything from the board going out over wi-fi using what I currently have for an ntp sketch (point was to set time on a DS3231). I'm just using a Leonardo board and Sparkfun's ESP8266 shield. The webserver examples worked fine and I could poll temperatures, etc over TCP + HTTP. Wi-fi setup seems to work ok, but again, Sparkfun's jist on functions deviates considerably from other libraries.

So, my questions are:
1. What is the "authoritive" source for ESP8266 libraries and where is it hosted?
2. Does anyone have a simple UDP "echo" sketch with references to which ESP8266 libraries (and to which WiFiUDP libraries, there seems to be far too many as well) are used?

Thanks in advance for any help
S.
By gerardwr