-->
Page 8 of 15

Re: pwm_init creates a platform restart

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:13 am
by eriksl
My source and code at github: https://github.com/eriksl/esp8266-universal-io-bridge

I just find some (minor) bugs that I need to fix ;) Switching from "auto"-pwm to normal pwm doesn't work, but that's not relevant for this test (auto pwm means the duty cycle is varied from 0 to max and back, so you can make e.g. twinkling lights).

Re: pwm_init creates a platform restart

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:14 am
by eriksl
limpkin wrote:Is that with your project our my repository?
I highly doubt the problem is dram or iram usage as commenting big parts of the code doesn't help at all. Moreoever, I should have gotten a warning of some some during compilation.

Mine.

How big are the firmware files? As said, if the irom section grows to large, you well get in trouble long before the linker warns you. The linker config file thinks it can use 256 k netto which is not true.

Re: pwm_init creates a platform restart

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:16 am
by limpkin
eriksl wrote:My source and code at github: https://github.com/eriksl/esp8266-universal-io-bridge

I just find some (minor) bugs that I need to fix ;) Switching from "auto"-pwm to normal pwm doesn't work, but that's not relevant for this test (auto pwm means the duty cycle is varied from 0 to max and back, so you can make e.g. twinkling lights).


Thanks for the link!
I'll try compare your solution with mine.

Re: pwm_init creates a platform restart

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:17 am
by limpkin
eriksl wrote:
limpkin wrote:Is that with your project our my repository?
I highly doubt the problem is dram or iram usage as commenting big parts of the code doesn't help at all. Moreoever, I should have gotten a warning of some some during compilation.

Mine.

How big are the firmware files? As said, if the irom section grows to large, you well get in trouble long before the linker warns you. The linker config file thinks it can use 256 k netto which is not true.


Not big enough (will look into the exact size later). As I said, removing 50% of the code didn't help.