-->
Page 4 of 9

Re: New Kickstarter has hackable ESP8266

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:29 am
by Chris Carter
Sorry, the two libraries you' might struggle to find are here:

https://github.com/chrismelba/NeoPixelBus
https://github.com/chrismelba/NTP

The rest should be just a google away.

I've not tried the code with less than 60 pixels, but I can't think of a reason it wouldn't work? The seconds hand might get confused and not work, but the rest should (I think). Give it a try and report back!

Re: New Kickstarter has hackable ESP8266

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:29 am
by joplaj
Congratulations, this looks great! I tried it yesterday on a NeoPixel 60 Ring with a nodemcu 0.9.
Some things gave a problem; like the variable name of the NeoPixelbus , I changed it to clock2.
Code: Select allNeoPixelBus clock = NeoPixelBus(pixelCount, clockPin);


The other library you might need to download is the Time library.

One thing problem with the code is loading the settings page on the webserver. It just won't open.

But thanks anyway, I was working on a Led clock with MQTT support, this gives me some new ideas. ;)

Chris Carter wrote:Sorry, the two libraries you' might struggle to find are here:

https://github.com/chrismelba/NeoPixelBus
https://github.com/chrismelba/NTP

The rest should be just a google away.

I've not tried the code with less than 60 pixels, but I can't think of a reason it wouldn't work? The seconds hand might get confused and not work, but the rest should (I think). Give it a try and report back!

Re: New Kickstarter has hackable ESP8266

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:37 pm
by danbicks
Thanks @Chris Carter,

I had the same problem with the NeoPixelbus name, have not had time to look at it yet but well done joplaj for finding a solution. Would be nice to know why this was not a problem in Chris's code?

Cheers

Dans

Re: New Kickstarter has hackable ESP8266

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:11 pm
by Barnabybear
Hi, word of advice - don't "IP/switchwebmode".
It puts the clock into AP mode again, you have to swap to that network to do anything with the clock or change it back.