Post topics, source code that relate to the Arduino Platform

By mjtimblin
#6503 I have posted this same post on the Arduino Forum, but I haven't got many responses yet. I am a beginner when it comes to WIFI modules and communicating with them. I have looked at the Esp8266EasyIoT, but it looks like it requires a raspberry pi to run the server on. I don't have a raspberry pi, but I will be able to run a server on a desktop or laptop. I have included my original post on the Arduino Forum below. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your help!

"Hello!
I am working on a thermostat that will be controlled by an Atmega328 chip with, a 10k NTC thermistor, tactile switches, relays, a 16x2 LCD screen. I programming the ATmega328 chip and soldering it to some perfboard with the other components. I have the code, and I can create the thermostat itself, but I want to add WIFI capability to the thermostat with an ESP8266. My goal is to change the temperature, view the temperature, and turn on the furnace using a computer or smartphone. The problem that I am encountering is that I am finding next to for how to upload and download information using the ESP8266. I know it is possible, but I don't know how. I know that I will probably have to host a server on a computer, and I am ok with that, but I don't know how to communicate with the ESP8266. I am still somewhat of a beginner. So, please excuse my incompetence. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!"
By gwizz
#6521 If you just want to use the esp8266 as a transparent bridge to wifi then there is a github project here: https://github.com/beckdac/ESP8266-transparent-bridge and some people (Lawrence I think) who report this working.

However, I would consider if you can replace the atmega entirely and just drive the lcd, measure resistance, switches and operate relays all from the esp itself?

With a ESP-12 module you'd probably have enough IO to do all that and still have enough to control the backlight etc.